Taekwondo

Standard

Utterly nervous and thrilled at the same time before classes began.

Okay. I did it. I got there. It was… not really how I had projected it to be. The last time I practiced Taekwondo was when I was six or seven years old, the summer before I entered Grade 1. I got promoted from white belt to yellow belt holder, and then I stopped a long while after that. But I’m back doing it again. Not anymore at Ali Mall, but at my school. There weren’t many students. In fact, there were only six of us in attendance. No Dorothy, or Meredith; Miguel or EJ or Sierra, E-Jo, Melca. I am not at all certain if I should get to see those people again. I did meet the new trainers, Coaches E and R. I was the only female who joined. And aside from this other fifteen-year-old guy named Corey, I was the only adolescent who attended. The rest were kids.

I still am left inquisitive as to why I was the only one in my batch to be present at today’s session. I had thought that there would many of them there already, since a few of them had been convincing me to join. I’ve been taught taekguek for the promotion. I have to practice lest I be told to give five push-ups for every mistake again.

Coach E encouraged me to join the team’s trainings every Sunday. It will be in a different school, and my batchmates are going to be there. I shall obtain my uniform this Friday. For the meantime, I have to buy armor, a headgear, shinguards, armguards, and all the other stuffs required in Taekwondo. My mother allowed me to come. I’ve been told to be at our meeting place as early as eight in the morning, and to have a lot of stamina as well. I will be riding Manny’s car. Sucks though that I have to pay P150 for every time we enter the building.

That’s all for today. I feel that the uniform will go to waste if I don’t prolong this at the schoolyear. At least the yellow belt is included on the P1,500 payment for the uniform. The gears are costly. I realized that I would have spent almost P10,000 if I buy them. I can’t believe I’m finally doing this. Maybe I should continue in the schoolyear. I need to practice, go to the mall, and stop worrying about the expenses. I get an allowance for every time I go to Taekwondo classes anyway.

Leave a comment