Agreement to Times: Sunday Training

Standard

When the summer began, I vowed to take Taekwondo seriously, even to go as far as prolonging until the school-year. I seriously considered that last sentiment until today. I tell myself and everyone around me that Taekwondo has been going well – great, even. It isn’t. Lots of times, I felt like crying today, not because of the pain frequent in sports, but because of the sense of isolation and homesickness.

I went to that school for Sunday practices with some fifteen other Taekwondo athletes from our team. Manny is just dumb. He told me to go to school as early as quarter to seven, but his service came at a quarter to eight. I had to remain in my father’s car, hidden in view, until he came. I felt like an antisocial freak while Asher waited in front of the school. My appearance also came as a surprise to the others in the van.

Anyway, we arrived at that far-ass school. We had drills, and my legs hurt like crazy. We had a light sparring, which very much tired me out. I thought it was going okay, but then Coach E told me that I had bought the wrong armor. While I had the one-sided Star brand, I was told to replace it with a reversible one. Of course, he told me this in private. But I still felt like crying when he did because I remembered being in actual tears yesterday when my parents couldn’t find a cheaper armor. We got to buy this one for P850. Then, I just got so angry at him because he didn’t inform me what kind I should buy in the first place. I’m not going to amend my armor. Fuck them all. I also feel that my armguards, dug out from a box from years ago, are too small.

Anyway, at the end of the session, Coach E welcomed me in front of the class. Apparently, I was the only new kid. I was also invited to attend every Saturday at 6 AM, but I won’t go because that would be a hassle, considering that I would be starting review tomorrow. I should probably practice my kicks more. Better build stamina. I have a huge bump on my right shin. I wonder who kicked that.

On a related now, I hate how my neighbor – whose son is enrolled in Taekwondo as well – tries to act as if he were my father. Like earlier, while I was having a conversation with Dawn during practice, he called to me and said, “Katrina, ayusin mo ‘yang armor mo”, and then, “Bitin ‘yang tubig na dala mo”. Here are others:

“Mag-block-block ka nalang. Baka maano ka… malalakas sumipa ‘yang mga ‘yan. Matataas pa.” Well, I know I suck now. But wait until I get used to this shit. Your son’s not exactly the sharpest tool in the shed, either. I HAVE sparred before, mind you. I even sparred with Americans and Koreans before! Just you wait.

“’Wag ka nalang mag-spar sa Saturday. Pagod ka na no’n.” IT’S MY CHOICE, YOU MORON. I wasn’t planning on it, besides.

“Pahihiramin kita ng pera kung wala ka.” Here, he was actually talking about the entrance fee to the school. Well, I have some, thank you very much. I am not a Taekwondo n00b. I’ve done this before! I am just adjusting. What annoyed me even more is that he also rode on Manny’s van on the way home. And when I dismounted at SHAN, he said, “Dito ka na bababa?” Ugh. Stop trying to be my guardian. I am going to stay away from you as far as possible next session.

Over all, Taekwondo sucked today. It hasn’t even been a week yet, but I am already planning on leaving. I don’t like this life.

Leave a comment